FullSession Website Asset
Resources

Freshdesk alternatives for support teams: an evaluation checklist

Written by
October 20, 2026
Freshdesk alternatives: start from the use case, then score each option on eight criteria and test it on three real conversations. Keep Freshdesk and run Max inside it, or choose FullSession Desk.
Table of contents

The right Freshdesk alternative depends on which part of Freshdesk you are replacing. If you are replacing the whole ticketing operation across channels, compare Zendesk, Zoho Desk and HubSpot Service Hub. If your team works from a shared inbox, add Help Scout. If you run an online store, add Gorgias. If the real gap is AI answers and a clean handoff on your website or in your product, you may not need to replace Freshdesk at all. Score every option, Freshdesk included, against the same eight criteria before the first demo.

FullSession Support & Sales Desk gives you two ways to close that gap. Keep Freshdesk and run Max AI inside it: Max runs inside Zendesk, HubSpot, Freshdesk and other supported helpdesks, supported integrations are included, and your Freshdesk subscription stays separate. Or choose FullSession Desk, where the Desk app, shared inbox, human chat and supported integrations are included with Max, with no seat fees. Either way, Max costs $0.39 per AI-assisted conversation, with a $99 monthly minimum credited toward conversations rather than added on top. See the Desk's published capabilities.

Below: the use cases behind a Freshdesk evaluation, the units Freshworks charges for, an eight-criterion checklist, a sourced comparison of five alternatives and both FullSession options, and a test you can run on three real conversations. The downloadable evaluation checklist has a blank field for every score and observation. Prices and features come from each vendor's own pages, checked 19 October 2026, in USD. They change often, so recheck them before you sign.

Start with the use case behind your Freshdesk evaluation

Freshworks sells its support software as more than one product. The Freshdesk pricing page positions its Growth plan as “Launch AI-powered service over email” and lists ticketing and a shared inbox, a customer portal and knowledge base, and Freddy AI Agent. Freshdesk Omni is described as unifying customer service across email, chat, phone and messaging, and has its own price list. Freshchat is priced separately again. So “replace Freshdesk” can mean several different projects. Name yours before you build a shortlist.

Scroll horizontally to see all columns on smaller screens.

Use cases behind a Freshdesk evaluation, and what decides the shortlist for each
Use caseFreshworks scope it usually maps toWhat decides the shortlist
1. Email ticketing for a support teamFreshdesk Growth, Pro or EnterpriseTicket workflow, routing, SLA policies and reporting. Freshdesk lists multiple SLA policies and intelligent routing from Pro.
2. Chat and messaging across channelsFreshdesk Omni, or FreshchatThe channels you need on day one, and whether the AI agent covers chat. Freshdesk's help center lists the chat AI Agent as available only in Freshdesk Omni.
3. AI answers for repeat questionsFreddy AI Agent sessionsThe billing unit, the knowledge the agent can use, and what happens when a person takes over.
4. Buying questions from website visitorsChat on the marketing siteWhether the agent answers from pricing and product pages and passes ready buyers to sales.
5. Help for users inside your productIn-app chatWhether the agent can use permitted account data and guide or complete the task, not only link an article.

Rows 1 and 2 are helpdesk decisions. Rows 3 to 5 are AI agent decisions, and they can often be made without replacing the helpdesk. Settle that split before any demo, because it decides whether you are pricing seats, AI units or both.

What Freshworks charges for, unit by unit

List every unit your current Freshworks setup bills, so each candidate is priced against the same work. These are the units on Freshworks' own pages, checked 19 October 2026.

Scroll horizontally to see all columns on smaller screens.

Freshworks billable units and listed prices, USD, checked 19 October 2026
UnitListed priceConditions and source
Freshdesk agent$19 Growth, $55 Pro, $89 Enterprise per agent per month, billed annuallyGrowth is positioned for service over email. Freshdesk pricing
Freshdesk Omni agent$29 Growth, $79 Pro, $119 Enterprise per agent per month, billed annuallyOmni brings email, chat, phone and messaging together. Omni pricing
Freddy AI Agent session$49 per pack of 100 sessionsPlans list the first 500 sessions as included; Freshdesk's help center calls them a one-time complimentary allowance for new customers. Packs are added for the current billing cycle. Freddy AI add-ons
Session windowChat: 24 hours from the start of the conversation. Email: 72 hours from the customer's first email.The chat AI Agent is listed as available only in Freshdesk Omni. Same help article.
Freddy AI Copilot$29 per agent per monthAdd-on on Pro and Enterprise. Freshdesk pricing
MCP actions$15 per 1,000 actionsListed as an add-on on the Freshdesk and Omni pricing pages.
Connector app tasks$80 per 5,000 tasksListed as an add-on on the Freshdesk and Omni pricing pages.

Two details change the comparison. First, a Freddy session is a time window, not an outcome: Freshworks defines it as all interactions between an end user and the AI Agent within the window, so by that definition the count does not depend on whether the answer resolved the question. Second, Freshworks' session FAQ says that when sessions run out, the AI agent stops responding and conversations are handed over to live agents, so budget the session allowance and your staffing together.

The eight criteria to score every Freshdesk alternative

Use the same eight criteria for every product, Freshdesk included. Each row is a question you can answer from documentation or a demo, plus the evidence to keep. The checklist download has a blank score and evidence field for each.

Scroll horizontally to see all columns on smaller screens.

Eight criteria for a Freshdesk alternative evaluation
CriterionQuestion to answerEvidence to keep
1. ChannelsWhich channels must work on day one: email, website chat, in-app chat, messaging apps, social, phone?The plan that includes each channel, from the vendor's pricing page.
2. Ticketing depthDo you need SLA policies, routing rules, macros, a customer portal or several brands?The plan where each is listed, and a demo of your hardest ticket.
3. AI agent billing unitWhat is counted (session, conversation, resolution, ticket or credit), over what window, and what is excluded?The vendor's written definition and the price per unit.
4. DeploymentWhere does the AI agent run: inside your current helpdesk, in a new inbox, on the website, inside the product?The supported integration for your helpdesk and plan.
5. HandoffWhen a person takes over, do they get the same thread and the AI's answers? Does the handoff change the bill?A test conversation, and the vendor's billing rule for handoffs.
6. Knowledge sources and actionsWhich sources can the agent answer from, and can it read permitted account data or take supported actions?The list of supported sources and the permission model.
7. Admin effortWho sets up and maintains articles, flows, rules and integrations? Is paid onboarding required?The vendor's setup steps, and any required onboarding fee.
8. Total cost by unitWhat do seats, AI units, add-ons and retained subscriptions cost at your volume?A monthly total at your own volume, with each unit named.

Score criteria 1 and 2 first. If a product fails a channel or ticketing requirement you cannot drop, the AI criteria do not matter. If Freshdesk already meets your ticketing requirements, criteria 3 to 8 are the real evaluation, and keeping Freshdesk becomes a serious option.

How five alternatives and FullSession compare

The first table covers channels and the pricing basis. The second follows one support conversation through each product's AI agent: what it bills, what counts, and what happens when a person takes over. Every cell comes from the vendor's own pricing or help pages, checked 19 October 2026, in USD. This is a comparison of documented terms, not a test of any product. Intercom and Fin are covered in our Intercom alternatives guide.

Scroll horizontally to see all columns on smaller screens.

Channels and pricing basis, from each vendor's own pages (checked 19 October 2026, USD)
OptionChannels on the pricing pagePricing basisNote for a Freshdesk team
Zendesk SuiteEmail and ticketing, messaging and live chat, voice; social and business channels on Suite plans, with additional fees for WhatsAppPer agent: Suite Team $55 per agent per month paid yearly; Support Team, for ticketing, $19. Zendesk pricingPrice the Suite if chat and voice must sit in the same workspace as tickets.
Zoho DeskEmail, social and web forms on Express; live chat and messaging apps from Standard; telephony from ProfessionalPer user, by edition. The page shows regional pricing, so confirm it in your currency. Zoho Desk pricingChannels are added by edition, so map each channel you need to its edition.
Help ScoutShared inbox; live chat and SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Messenger on Standard; phone through an integrationPer user: Standard $25, Plus $45, Pro $75 per user per month, with a discount for annual payment. Help Scout pricingBuilt around the shared inbox; check inbox and knowledge base limits by plan.
HubSpot Service HubHelp desk and knowledge base on Professional; live chat on every plan, including Free; calling minutes and WhatsApp messages by planPer seat: Professional starts at $90 per seat per month, plus a required one-time $1,500 onboarding fee. HubSpot pricingFits best when your CRM is already HubSpot. Max also runs inside HubSpot.
GorgiasHelpdesk with AI Agent; Voice and SMS as add-ons. Other channels are not listed on the pricing page.By ticket volume, from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month, “never priced per agent.” Gorgias pricingPositions itself as an ecommerce customer experience platform; size the plan by tickets, not team size.
FullSession: Max inside FreshdeskFreshdesk keeps its channels; Max adds AI answers through a supported helpdesk integrationFreshdesk seats as today, plus Max at $0.39 per AI-assisted conversation, $99 monthly minimum credited. Desk pricingConfirm which Freshdesk plan and channels the integration covers in your walkthrough.
FullSession DeskChat on your website and inside your product, in one shared inboxNo seat fees. Desk app, shared inbox, human chat and supported integrations included with Max at $0.39 per AI-assisted conversation.Covers website and in-product AI conversations with human chat. Email, phone and social ticketing stay in your helpdesk (Option 1).

Scroll horizontally to see all columns on smaller screens.

Workflow comparison: one support conversation through each AI agent, from vendor documentation (checked 19 October 2026, USD)
OptionAI billing unit and priceWhat is countedWhen a person takes over
Freshdesk or Omni with Freddy AI AgentSession; $49 per 100 after the included allowanceAll interactions with the AI Agent within 24 hours of the start of a chat (Omni only), or 72 hours from the customer's first emailNo handoff exception is stated in Freshworks' session definitions; confirm before you budget.
ZendeskAutomated resolution; $1.50 committed or $2.00 pay-as-you-go beyond the included allowance of 5 per agent per month on Suite TeamA verified resolution: an LLM reviews the conversation to confirm the request was resolved. Email conversations end 72 hours after the first email; messaging after 2 hours by default. Zendesk helpAn escalated conversation is classed as an assisted escalation, which does not count against the resolution allowance.
Help ScoutAI Answers resolution; $0.75A single conversation resolved by AI Answers without human assistance, charged once per conversationNo resolution is charged when the customer escalates or asks for more help.
HubSpot Service HubResolved conversation; 50 HubSpot credits, or $0.50Customer Agent on Pro and Enterprise; credits cost $0.010 each, and included monthly credits do not roll over. HubSpot announcementBilled when a conversation is resolved; ask how a handed-over conversation is classified.
GorgiasAI Agent automation fee per resolved ticket; the price depends on your tierA ticket the AI Agent resolves with no human agent involved within 72 hours. Gorgias' billing docs and plan guide differ on whether that ticket also counts as a billable ticket, so confirm in writing.After a handover to a human agent, no automation fee applies; the ticket fee does.
Zoho DeskTokens: Express lists AI Agents with your own key or Zoho's LLM, with up to 30M free tokens a monthNot stated on the pricing pageNot stated on the pricing page; ask in the demo.
FullSession Max, either optionAI-assisted conversation; $0.39, with a $99 monthly minimum credited toward conversationsOne user in one thread for a fixed 24 hours from Max's first substantive answer, guidance or supported action. Greetings, clarification-only exchanges, human-only chat, internal tests and failed starts are not billed.A handoff before substantive help is not billed. After it, the one conversation charge stands, and human replies add no charges.

Two families of unit appear. Outcome units, used by Zendesk, Help Scout, HubSpot and Gorgias, charge when the vendor's definition of resolved is met. That ties cost to success, but each definition differs, so read it and audit it against real conversations. Window units, used by Freddy sessions and Max conversations, charge for the AI's work within a fixed period, which you can count yourself from the transcripts. Neither family is cheaper in general: the total depends on your volume, your seats and how often a conversation needs a person. To build that total, use the AI chatbot pricing guide.

Option 1: keep Freshdesk and run Max inside it

If Freshdesk already handles your email tickets, SLA policies and reporting, replacing it to get a different AI agent is a large project for a narrow gain. FullSession documents a smaller one: Max runs inside Zendesk, HubSpot, Freshdesk and other supported helpdesks. Supported integrations are included with Max, and your Freshdesk subscription stays separate. Your team keeps its queue, and Max adds the AI work.

That work goes beyond answering from articles. Max answers support and sales questions and provides onboarding via co-driving, product discovery and task completion. It answers from approved knowledge: your documentation, help center, pricing page, marketing site and support portal. It connects to your application MCP server for permitted data and actions, so an answer can use the order, account or product data you choose to expose. Max can switch between text and voice within a conversation, remembers personal next steps across visits, and customers always know when they are talking to Max and can ask for a person at any time.

Confirm these setup requirements before you commit:

  • Integration scope. Which Freshdesk plan and channels the integration covers, and where your team replies after a handoff.
  • Knowledge sources. The pages and articles Max should answer from, each with an owner who keeps it current. The chatbot knowledge base guide covers that preparation.
  • MCP server. Whether Max should read account data or take supported actions, and exactly which data and actions your server permits.
  • Spending limit. Your workspace owner sets the spending limit, and unused allowance expires monthly.

Cost is your Freshdesk seats as today, plus Max at $0.39 per AI-assisted conversation. The $99 minimum is credited toward conversations, so at 253 conversations or fewer in a month the bill is $99, and at 1,000 conversations it is $390. If you also keep Freddy AI Agent, you pay for two AI units, so decide which agent answers on which channel.

Option 2: choose FullSession Desk for chat support and sales

FullSession Desk is the included inbox for teams whose conversations happen in chat, on the website and inside the product. The Desk app, shared inbox, human chat and supported integrations are included with Max. There are no seat, MAU, app or per-lead fees, so adding a teammate to the inbox does not change the bill.

Every conversation lands in one inbox, sorted into Open, Pending and Closed, and your team takes over in the same thread. You can assign conversations and control who can view them, use internal notes and @mentions, and set office hours in your team's time zone with an away message; visitors can still leave a question after hours. Page rules decide where the chat appears, every AI reply is marked, and what visitors type in the chat follows the same masking rules as every other input FullSession records. SSO/SAML, custom roles and audit logs come with Enterprise. For handoff design in more depth, see the chatbot-to-human handoff guide.

On the website, Max answers from pricing and product pages, then takes buyers to the right plan or fills in the demo request with them, and passes ready buyers to sales with no per-lead fee. Add Core CX / UX, from $39.20/mo billed annually, and your team can also see the recorded session behind a conversation when that session was captured; recordings depend on your Core plan, capture settings and retention.

Desk covers website and in-product AI conversations with human chat in one shared inbox. Teams whose queue also runs on email, phone or social ticketing, SLA policies or macros keep that work in Freshdesk and run Max inside it (Option 1), or split the work: Desk for website and in-app chat, Freshdesk for email.

Run the checklist on three real conversations

Documentation narrows the shortlist; a test decides it. Pull three recent conversations from your Freshdesk queue: an email ticket that needed a person, a chat question that a good answer would have settled, and a buying question from a website visitor. Run each one in every finalist's demo or trial, and record five things: where it arrived, what the AI answered and from which source, whether a person took over in the same thread, which billing unit it consumed, and what that unit costs at your monthly volume.

The full evaluation path, in four steps:

  1. Name the use case: email ticketing, chat and messaging, AI answers, website buying questions or in-app help.
  2. Score the eight criteria, starting with channels and ticketing depth.
  3. Choose a path: replace the helpdesk with a product that passes criteria 1 and 2, keep Freshdesk and add an AI agent inside it, or move chat to a new inbox and keep email in the helpdesk.
  4. Test three real conversations and record the channel, the answer source, the handoff, the billed unit and the monthly cost.
Illustrative Freshdesk evaluation path in four steps: name the use case; score eight criteria, channels and ticketing depth first; choose one of three paths (replace the helpdesk, keep Freshdesk and add an AI agent inside it, or move chat to a new inbox and keep email in the helpdesk); then test three real conversations and record channel, answer source, handoff, billed unit and monthly cost.
Illustrative evaluation path, not a product screenshot or a test result. Open the diagram at full size.

Keep the expected answer and the observed result in separate columns; the download has both, blank.

Compare both Desk options in a walkthrough

Bring your completed checklist and the three conversations from your Freshdesk queue. We will walk through both paths with your examples: Max alongside your existing helpdesk and Max in FullSession Desk, the takeover in the same thread, and how each conversation is counted under the published billing rules.

Compare both Desk options in a walkthrough.

Freshdesk alternative questions support teams ask

Is Freshdesk Omni a different product from Freshdesk?

It is priced separately. Freshdesk plans run from $19 to $89 per agent per month billed annually, with Growth positioned for service over email. Freshdesk Omni runs from $29 to $119 per agent per month billed annually and brings email, chat, phone and messaging together, and Freshdesk's help center lists the chat AI Agent as available only in Omni. Prices checked 19 October 2026.

Can we keep Freshdesk and use a different AI agent?

Yes, with Max. FullSession states that Max runs inside Zendesk, HubSpot, Freshdesk and other supported helpdesks, with supported integrations included and the Freshdesk subscription separate. Max is billed at $0.39 per AI-assisted conversation with a $99 monthly minimum credited toward conversations. Confirm the Freshdesk plan and channels the integration covers before you plan the rollout.

How should we compare AI agent costs across helpdesks?

Name each unit first: Freddy sessions, Zendesk automated resolutions, Help Scout and HubSpot resolutions, Gorgias automation fees, Max AI-assisted conversations. Write each vendor's definition, window and handoff rule beside its price. Then total seats, AI units, add-ons and retained subscriptions at your own monthly volume, because a low unit price can still sit on top of seat costs.

What happens when Freddy AI Agent sessions run out?

Freshworks' session FAQ says the AI agent stops responding and conversations are handed over to live agents. Budget the session allowance and your staffing together, and note that a session counts every interaction within its window, whether or not the question was resolved.

Which criteria should a Freshdesk alternative be scored on?

Eight: channels, ticketing depth, AI agent billing unit, deployment, handoff, knowledge sources and actions, admin effort, and total cost by unit. Score channels and ticketing depth first, because a product that fails a requirement you cannot drop is out whatever its AI can do.

See what’s costing you, and prove whats fixing it is worth

Watch the real journey, rank every issue by revenue impact, and validate the result against baseline.

Social media follow icon outline illustrationFinancial Services (1) dashboard illustration
FullSession product graphics
FullSession svg icon
FullSession product graphics
Fixed Vector UI
Full session Svg line